sausa14

AOS same sex marriage advice??

9 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: South Africa
Timeline

Hey Everyone

Im new to the forum but have been on browsing these for about a year or two now. Im currently an international student on an F1 visa and just wanted to ask some questions.

I've been dating a US Citizen now for a little over 8 months (Not a whole lot I know). Here is the deal. We both are genuinely in love with eachother and have recently even moved in together. But whenever the topic comes up its always a little awkward and unsettling for both of us, because we know there is a huge barrier that is standing between us right now, that is me having the right to stay here once I finish studying. We don't want to marry just for the sake of getting immigration benefits ovcourse, and do not want to rush anything , but at the same time it may be our only option. I cant bring him to my home country either as we would just have the same issues. I have entered the DV lottery many times still no luck, My studies end in May next year and then I will only have one year to work on OPT.

Just wanted to know what you advice would be, we want to stay together, but can wait it out until needed. I did not want to file and then have them think we got married just for AOS on my part. How long do cases like this generally take (not sure if it is different for same sex?). If I have two years left here from May, when would the latest be that I can submit so that I would not have to leave the country to do the process abroad?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

You have plenty of time; as long as you file while you are still legally in the USA, there will not be any issues.

So if you are not ready for marriage yet, wait until the end of your OPT and decide then

Same sex petitions are treated no differently.

Bye: Penguin