VolcarSS

US Government Shutdown

42 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-5 Country: Jamaica
Timeline

A question for all the VJ petition experts. In the event that there is a US Government shutdown come October 1, 2013, how will it impact on NVC's visa processing?

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Malaysia
Timeline

I'm no expert, but my guess is the NVC, because they are contractors, will still work. DOS and the embassies will not, though, except for critical functions (in other words, no visa interviews or issuance).

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Nigeria
Timeline

A question for all the VJ petition experts. In the event that there is a US Government shutdown come October 1, 2013, how will it impact on NVC's visa processing?

Here is what the public might expect if the federal government is forced into a partial shutdown:

FEDERAL WORKERS

Employees in all three branches of government are vulnerable to furlough, or temporary unpaid leave, although each agency makes its own final decisions, according to a report last month by the Congressional Research Service.

However, some high-level employees, such as the president and presidential appointees, are not subject to furlough. Other so-called "essential" workers must work during a shutdown, some with and others without pay.

For example, exempt workers include those whose work is critical for national security or public health and safety, such as air traffic controllers and border security agents, according to federal guidance.

Affected workers may be able to receive pay retroactively, as has happened after past shutdowns, but such payments are not guaranteed, CRS staff said.

About 800,000 federal workers were furloughed in November 1995; the next month, nearly 300,000 were furloughed and another nearly 500,000 worked without pay.

Federal contractors are also likely to be affected. In the last shutdown, more than 20 percent of federal contracts, or nearly $4 billion, were involved, researchers said.