planetrock0529

EAD waiting period - how long does it take after biometrics?

8 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Japan
Timeline

Hi everyone,

I'm new to visajourney.com and just registered today. Great way to communicate with people in similar situation such as myself :)

I sent my AOS package (I-485, I-765 and I-131) on Feb 23rd, NOA receipt received on March 4th and just completed my biometrics on March 31st. My question is...how long did it take for your EAD to be issued after biometrics? I know each case is different so that's why I want to know :)

To be honest, I can't wait to get my EAD so I can apply for a social security number, get a drivers license and work! Some might say to concentrate on the positive such as "consider it a long vacation" or "enjoy being together physically with your loved ones" but "not working" and "not being able to work" is a completely different stress factor. I already feel like I waited enough that I practically ran out of things to do :(

If anyone can share their EAD waiting experience it would be great! Hope to hear from anyone who has time in their hands :D

P.S.

When I went to get my biometrics done, the immigration office was EMPTY. I overheard the officers discussing that it's "slow" this few months. It might be wishful thinking but I hope this will speed up the process ;P

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

Port of Entry - Los Angeles, CA

Switching from a tourist visa.

2011-01-21: Date of marriage (Los Angeles, CA)

I485-APPLICATION TO REGISTER PERMANENT RESIDENCE OR TO ADJUST STATUS

2011-02-23: Documents filed

2011-03-04: NOA 1 (Notice of receipt)

2011-03-11: ASC Appointment Notice

2011-03-31: Biometric appointment

I765-APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT AUTHORIZATION

2011-04-22: 1st EAD Approval (Card/ Document Production) online

2011-04-27: 2nd EAD Approval (Card/ Document Production) online

2011-04-28: USCIS Status moved to "Post Decision Activity" online