Coleen

Please HELP with RFE- Tax Return!!!

9 posts in this topic

Hello everybody,

I hope that someone will find enough time to answer my questions clearly. Prior to writing this topic I have researched a little bit here on VJ, but I was unable to find an answer or maybe I was just unable to understand it, and it's because I'm new to USA and don't know the exact processes for certain things.

Here's my problem: About an hour ago I received Request for Initial Evidence (I-485). This is what it's about and what I have to send them back:

1. The petitoner/ sponsor submitted a Federal income tax return with form I-485, Affidavit of Support. However, the Federal income tax return was for a prior tax year. Please submit the Federal Income Tax Return for the most recent tax year.

2. Submit all the supporting tax doumentation (W-2s, 1099s, and all supporting tax schedules) submitted to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) from the petitioner/sponsor on form I-864, Affidavit of Support, for the most recent tax year.

I have 87 days to respond to this RFE.

I'm an AOS petitioner based on K1 visa. So when I had my interview for visa back in my country they took the front page from my boyfriend's Federal Income Tax Return for year 2009. When I submitted documents for AOS, besides the rest of that document (my husband thought that it would be OK because you could still see all the numbers USCIS wants to see) I also included his Federal Income Tax Returns for years 2007 and 2008 (they were all original documents and we haven't kept any copies with us), as well as his pay stubs for the most recent 6 months. We really thought that everything's gonna be OK. But, now I see we made a mistake.

So, my questions about all of this are: Where do I get the whole document (Tax return)? How? How long does it take to get it?

I think that he can go online and print out his W-2s. Now what about 1099s? What exactly is that? And how do I get it? And what are ''supporting tax schedules''?