beton99

Visa App refused 212(a)(6)(c)(1)

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Dear Forum members,

I’m a Hungarian architect. I have an approved I-797 application for a H-1B visa (2009), but when I applied for the visa at the Embassy, they denied my visa application on grounds of 212(a)(6)( C )(1).

In 2003, I had an incident at the border, when my student visa was canceled. In 2001-2002 I spent three semesters at a US university on an athletic scholarship. After that I went back to Hungary to continue my studies (which I started in 97), with keeping the possibility that I can go back to the US (my visa was valid until 2006 and the I-20 signed). At the end of March 2003 when I wanted to go back to the States the immigration officer refused my admission to the States, saying that I didn’t have any classes registered at my US university. That was true, although I’ve never had any classes registered before any of my trips either (in 2001 or 2002). My F1 visa was canceled. From the information I gathered it seems officially I withdrew my application to the US. When I asked how I could come back, the immigration officer informed me that I just have to re-apply for a new visa. He didn't mention a ban and I didn't get any paperwork.

Half a year passed, I finished one more semester at my Hungarian university, and it became clear that an M.Sc. from there would be faster to achieve than a Masters in the US. For the M.Sc. in Hungary, you are required to do an internship, it can be anywhere. I got an offer from a US firm to do it there and I saw it as a great opportunity, because I could see the possibility to work there after I graduate.