VisaJourney.com: is this IMBRA or not - VisaJourney.com

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

is this IMBRA or not

#1 User is offline   bigcasino75 Icon

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 30 July 2009 - 10:16 AM

Hi all I am new here and will be applying for a K1 for my fiencee in a month or so. We are in no hurry now because she is in school in Thailand till next June so now I am just reading info and advice but here is one that I am not sure of. We met on a website called thaikisses.com it is a international dating site but it is more for europeanes than americans is this a IMB and when i am ask if we met on a IMB do I say yes? I am not sure and would hate to put down the wrong answer and get rejected because of it. thanks forr any help you can give
Oct. 2008 met Sa on Thaikisses and started chatting
Nov. Started daily phone calls
Dec. 2008 started dating (Boyfriend/ Girlfriend)
May 5, 2009 May 11, 2009 Trip to Thailand
July 2009 Engaged
Aug 2009 started I-129F
Sept 22, 2009 mailed I-129F
Sept 24, 2009 check cashed
Sept 24, 2009 NOA 1 Dated
Sept 27, 2009 NOA 1 received (Hardcopy)
Dec. 18, 2009 NOA 2 Dated(no email)
Dec. 24, 2009 NOA 2 Hardcopy
Dec. 28, 2009 NVC received but not sent to Embassy
Dec. 28, 2009 Sa maied Packet 3 to Embassy
Dec. 29, 2009 NVC forward to Bangkok, Embassy. Tracking by DHL
Jan. 03, 2010 Received by Bangkok Embassy
Jan. 06, 2010 Received email from embassy interview is set for Jan22.
Jan. 22, 2010 Interview at BKK Embassy passed
Jan. 27, 2010 Picked up Visa

Its not about how you pick your nose its what you do with the booger!
0

#2 User is offline   rsn Icon

  • my other car is a JVM
  • Icon

Posted 30 July 2009 - 10:58 AM

QUOTE (bigcasino75 @ Jul 30 2009, 10:16 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi all I am new here and will be applying for a K1 for my fiencee in a month or so. We are in no hurry now because she is in school in Thailand till next June so now I am just reading info and advice but here is one that I am not sure of. We met on a website called thaikisses.com it is a international dating site but it is more for europeanes than americans is this a IMB and when i am ask if we met on a IMB do I say yes? I am not sure and would hate to put down the wrong answer and get rejected because of it. thanks forr any help you can give


duplicate post: http://www.visajourn...howtopic=210337
Ray & Kat

Summary of our journey:
K1:
01/15/2009 (mailed I-129F) - 06/23/2009 (visa received)
AOS: 08/08/2009 (mailed I-485, I-765, & I-131) - 10/29/2009 (received GC)


0

#3 User is offline   Angie Y Shane Icon

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:06 AM

Did you have to pay for the site? If you did pay for the site then it's IMBRA i believe.
0

#4 User is offline   furiousng Icon

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 30 July 2009 - 12:35 PM

If you had to pay for the site matching and facilitating communication between the two of you, its IMBRA.
Adjustment of Status
Event Date
CIS Office : Dallas TX
Date Filed : 2009-02-26
NOA Date : 2009-03-10
RFE(s) : 2009-03-19
Bio. Appt. : 2009-03-28
AOS Transfer** :
Interview Date : 2009-06-16
Approval / Denial Date : 2009-06-16
Approved :Yes
Got I551 Stamp :No
Greencard Received:2009-07-12

Posted Image




Posted Image
0

#5 User is offline   Matt & Bing Icon

  • Gold Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 31 July 2009 - 10:58 AM

QUOTE (furiousng @ Jul 30 2009, 01:35 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you had to pay for the site matching and facilitating communication between the two of you, its IMBRA.


No, paying for a dating site does not automatically mean that it falls under IMBRA.
Service Center : California Service Center
Consulate : Manila, Philippines
I-129F Sent : 2008-12-02
I-129F NOA1 : 2008-12-05
RFE: 2009-02-26
NOA2: 2009-03-13
NVC Received: 2009-03-23
Left NVC: 2009-05-12
Stuck at NVC 50 days
Interview: 2009-06-23 Passed!
Visa picked up: 2009-06-25
POE Detroit: 2009-07-04
Married: 2009-09-11
Filed for AOS: 2009-09-22
Biometrics taken: 2009-10-29
Advance Parole approved 2009-11-04
Employment Authorization approved 2009-11-04
AOS Appointment 2009-12-15
AOS Approved 2009-12-15
Green Card Received 2010-01-02
0

#6 User is offline   rsn Icon

  • my other car is a JVM
  • Icon

Posted 31 July 2009 - 11:01 AM

QUOTE (Matt & Bing @ Jul 31 2009, 10:58 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (furiousng @ Jul 30 2009, 01:35 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you had to pay for the site matching and facilitating communication between the two of you, its IMBRA.


No, paying for a dating site does not automatically mean that it falls under IMBRA.


I would have to agree with you. There do seem to be exceptions. An excerpt from my post in the OP's duplicate thread:

QUOTE
The definition of IMB, under Section 833(e)(4)(A), is any corporation, individual, or legal entity, whether or not existing under the laws of the U.S., who charges fees for providing dating, matrimonial, matchmaking or social referrals or is "otherwise faciliating communication between individuals."

There are, under Section 833(e)(4)( B) , TWO IMPORTANT EXCEPTIONS, : 1) "The Non-Profit": a traditional matchmaking organization of a cultural or religious nature which offers its services on a non-profit basis under law, tyically a state-registered corporation, and 2) "The Non-Primary Business with Comparable Rates": a domestic dating service or other primary service whose principal business is NOT international dating and which charges comparable rates for comparable services to all individuals, men and women, domestic and foreign.

This post has been edited by rsn: 31 July 2009 - 11:02 AM

Ray & Kat

Summary of our journey:
K1:
01/15/2009 (mailed I-129F) - 06/23/2009 (visa received)
AOS: 08/08/2009 (mailed I-485, I-765, & I-131) - 10/29/2009 (received GC)


0

#7 User is offline   1HappyGuy Icon

  • Platinum Member
  • Icon

Posted 03 August 2009 - 05:24 PM

First, IMBRA applies only to internet sites that are under the jurisdicition of the laws of America. If your site is foreign based then it doesn't qualify. The payment of a fee refers more to the introduction process. Many web sites request members pay for the opportunity to access other members.

And if in doubt, go ahead and list it as an IMB. If you spell out everything and she is aware of any possible problems in your background, then you have nothing really to worry about. Its probably a good idea that your fiancee knows about any skeletons in your closet.




0

#8 User is offline   baron555 Icon

  • Platinum Member
  • Icon

Posted 03 August 2009 - 06:41 PM

QUOTE (furiousng @ Jul 30 2009, 12:35 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you had to pay for the site matching and facilitating communication between the two of you, its IMBRA.



It doesn't matter. Just list them on Question 19 and there will be no problems. I used Elenas Models and had to pay to obtain her email address. Our petition was approved no problem.

Phil (Lockport, near Chicago) and Alla (Lobnya, near Moscow)

As of Dec 7, 2009, now Zero miles apart (literally)!
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


Important Disclaimer: Please read carefully the Visajourney.com Terms of Service. If you do not agree to the Terms of Service you should not access or view any page (including this page) on VisaJourney.com. Answers and comments provided on Visajourney.com Forums are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Visajourney.com does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. VisaJourney.com does not condone immigration fraud in any way, shape or manner. VisaJourney.com recommends that if any member or user knows directly of someone involved in fraudulent or illegal activity, that they report such activity directly to the Department of Homeland Security, Immigration and Customs Enforcement. You can contact ICE via email at Immigration.Reply@dhs.gov or you can telephone ICE at 1-866-347-2423. All reported threads/posts containing reference to immigration fraud or illegal activities will be removed from this board. If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by contacting us here with a url link to that content. Thank you.