atlus

Petitioner Must be Employed ? ( this is wrong )

27 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Thailand
Timeline

I read in this forum the full guide you will need for the K-1 Visa. It said you must be employed but what if  your work is only 6 months and the other 6 months you are unemployed but make well above the yearly income requirement .

I am a commercial pilot but I only work 6 months the other 6 months I live in Thailand but I make well above the poverty line. 

I was told as long as i can show i can support my Fiance and I make above there yearly income requirement which I make that in one month in a half.

So can a commercial pilot that makes well above there requirement and has a return to work with same company i should be fine. In fact they are giving me a raise next year.

And what about the guys that don't even work but are well off no matter if it was with stocks or the son of a multi billionaire?

I don't think a person has to have a full time job . Some persons do not work and are well off. I used to fly fire bombers and I would fly only 6 months and make 100k

If i had no job but was a billionaire I believe i would qualify. I am far from being a billionaire but i am comfortable and I make well above the required yearly income.

And in the full guide post it said you need the last 3 years tax return this is wrong you only need the current year .

Anyone have any thoughts on this ?

Thank you

Van & Zaw ^_^

Edited by atlus

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

It's not "wrong" necessarily but rather some embassies request multiple tax returns from years prior and some only require the most recent. Depends on the country.