wvail95bml

Marijuana concerns

13 posts in this topic

Hello All,

This is the first time I post here, I've been reading the forum for quite some time now. As we all have the same goal and are here to help each other I would like to seek for your opinion and information regarding my case. We haven't started the K1 process yet, but we intend to do it soon. 

I am from Bulgaria and I've been smoking marijuana for the past 2 years [it's illegal in my country but police don't care]. As I recently got engadged I started reading about the K1 visa process. I've read topics on failed medical tests due to marijuana use. Correct me if I am wrong, but to my understanding if the test is marijuana positive, I would get a 1 year ban and we would need to restart the K1 visa application process after they lift off the ban.

My questions are the following:

How much time would I need to take it out of my system? Is it a blood test or other? According to what I found online some tests may show THC positive if I smoked within the past 6 months, others may have a larger scope [e.g. 2 years].

I am not going to smoke anymore and I believe that I have enough time to get it out of my system until the interview date. However what concerns me most is how should I reply to the question on the application "Have you used drugs?". I want to be honest and not lie about it. I want to tell them that I used to smoke before but I quit some time ago and I do not intend to start again. I know that they will require me to go to a psychologist because I answered "YES", but I feel like this is the right way to do it.

My husband-to-be thinks that I should not raise their attention on that and just answer with "NO". He said that the medical will not show that I smoked weed unless I smoked 2 months prior of the medical test date. What's your opinion about that?

Thank you for your help!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Wvail - Hello and welcome.