Luz Gonzalez

My husband got TN visa my children and I TD want to stay What visa do we request next???

44 posts in this topic

Filed: TD Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

My husband was hired to work for an American company that requested a TN visa for him and TD visas for my children and I. We would like to become citizens but have no idea where to begin. Can you help us???

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

I had a co-worker from Mexico on a TN visa a few years ago and he mentioned the TN visa would not allow him to apply for U.S. residency and subsequently U.S. citizenship. I'm not sure if the rule have changed since then. However, he should seek the possibility of applying for an H1-B work visa, but he will need the help of his employer.

Filed: TD Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

Since my husband got a TN visa I got a TD visa that does not aloud me to get a job. I studied a degree in tourism, I worked in travel agencies and hotels and I liked doing that but What I love the most is teaching, I was teaching English in Mexico for the last 8 years, I would love to teach Spanish in America. Even when my husband has a good job our family needs to think about savings, we arrived here with no clothes, no furniture, we still can't get credit so there are things that we can't buy (basic things, I don't mean luxurious things) we are struggling a little bit, I need to help. Is there anything I can do with my visa status in order to get a job????

You can only try to get another visa. But nobody is going to do a visa for you for teaching, particularly if you don't have a degree for teaching/education.

Moreover, a Licenciatura in Tourism is not within the TN visa careers. To be a teacher and get a TN visa you need a Licenciatura, but your studies are not in teaching/education.