celugelda

K-1 in college

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Chile
Timeline

Hello everyone,

Extremely new to this site and saw a bunch of helpful information. I'm also very new to this whole process and hope you'll allow me to rely on you all on this site, as I don't know who to turn to offline!

I'm currently a college student (age 20) who met my boyfriend/intended fiancee (age 24) online about 4 years ago. We've met several times with him visiting me here in the states, and me visiting him as well in Chile, and we'd like for him to immigrate here to the USA so that we don't need to travel across the world to see each other. 

He will be graduating from college this year, and would like to start his career here. However, I am still in college and do not have a career started yet. I know the visa requires that I have a minimum amount of salary per year, however I am an independent student, and thus am studying full time. I have different part time jobs during the year (one while I'm at school, one during the summer), and am not sure if that will count as a steady income. However, I come from a family that has a decent amount of money, and also have a trust fund in my name from deceased family that I am currently in access to in order to pay for my tuition. I'm not worried about being able to support myself and my fiancee due to both my account, my savings, and my family support (my family knows and support him), and I already have living arrangements for him all planned out, but I'm worried about how these things will look on paper. Would I need a cosponsor? Will the government take into account my assets (trust funds, etc.) in comparison to my actual salary? And does it look bad that I'm trying to get married while still in school/ at this age?