skimmilk

AOS from B2 visa (Canadian in US)

28 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hello, all. I'm looking for some general feedback about my situation.

I'm a Canadian citizen (27 year old woman) who came to the US in 2013 on a F-1 visa to go to grad school in California. I graduated 2015, then changed to OPT.

It was right around graduation that my boyfriend (a US citizen) and I became romantically involved. I had been single for a long time and am actually his first real girlfriend. He is 33 years old. We moved in together December 2015. For most of 2016, I was trying to find work in my field (as stipulated by OPT). However, I was unsuccessful and did not obtain a work visa to which I could adjust my status. As a result, I had to go back to Canada in November 2016.

While I was in Canada, my boyfriend and I continued our relationship. Finally, in March 2017, we decided it was time for me to come back. At the time, he had not yet met my family and we also decided it was time for him to meet them. I met his family when we first started dating.

So I flew back to California and was granted a B2 visa at the airport. I was told to go to the secondary inspection area because obviously, they knew I had previously held F-1 status and I hadn't been out of the US for THAT long. The officer asked me what my intent was for this trip and I stated it was to visit my boyfriend. He stressed that I am NOT allowed to find work (I knew this already), asked how much cash I had on me (I found this weird; I'd never been asked that before), stamped my passport (with a B2 visa expiring September 2017) and sent me on my way.

A couple weeks after I got back, we flew to the East Coast to meet my family. They were able to drive down from Ontario and we had a nice few days together. My boyfriend's parents also came. It was during this time that my parents told me that if/when my boyfriend and I want to get married, they fully support it.