iran33

Green Card without Degree - From F1 visa

54 posts in this topic

Filed: O-1 Visa Country: Iran
Timeline

Hello everybody,

I'm currently an international student under F1 visa and may I have an opportunity to be sponsored to a Green Card application. I'm going to my 2nd year at the College.

I have talked to few immigration lawyers but each of them says a different thing.

Do you guys know if:

1. Am I eligible to be sponsored to a Green Card application without a Degree? (under Skilled Workers category)
2. Am I eligible to be sponsored to a Green Card going directly from an F1 visa?
3. Is the GC process "easier" than the H1B process? (talking about immigration factors)

PS: I know I can't work for this company until I get my GC, that's not a problem for the process.

Thank you very much.

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

When filing for a green card, your employer will have to file for PERM first, to demonstrate that that there are no existing USC/GC holders who can do your job. Without a degree that will almost certainly be denied.

I have personally not heard of anyone, other than being exceptional in their field, be sponsored for GC right after F-1, and even more-so without a degree.

As of "easiness", no, it's not easier, and it takes a significant amount of time.

Timeline

KurosawaSan, thank you for your reply.

As I understand, a degree is not a requirement for GC, right? I understand that the companies won't sponsor a guy without a degree, but in case I already have the company, for IMMIGRATION purposes, don't have a degree is a problem? There are many functions in the world that a degree isn't important.