quentin955

We don't know where to move: FL, TX or LA?

22 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: France
Timeline

Hello everyone.

Our k1-visa got issued and I'll be moving to the US on November 12th.
My fiancee lives in Monroe, Louisiana.
We both want to move to a bigger city.
We are considering three different areas (but we are not close-minded and if you have another suggestion, go for it!)

Firstly, I'm French, and I have a Bachelor degree in 3D and 2D infography. I've worked in a paleontology museum as a 3D modeler, and I am interested in this kind of job, as well as an interior designer job. I also have nothing against working in the tourism field (it might be useful to know. I don't know)
My fiancée is currently studying and will get a bachelor degree in French in a year. She's experienced in many fields and she's currently working at a hotel. She could be interested in working in a library or as a teacher.

So, the areas we chose are:

Orlando, FL.
She went there a few years ago and she loved it. I, personnaly, have never been there.
The idea of having Walt Disney World near us is something we would both enjoy.
But after reading some comments about the area, I'm not sure it's something we would enjoy this much. I might be wrong though. I really don't know much about this area, so if you have some things to tell me about this, i'll take it!

Dallas-Fort Worth, TX
We spent some days here and we liked it. We only visited Dallas and Plano though. Apparently this area is economically very good. Life isn't expensive, as well as houses and apartments. There are apparently a lot of things to do and there is an aiport with daily direct flights to Paris. But the area is huge, and we don't really know if we will enjoy it or if we are going to have some regrets. Her family told us to go there, because it's what seems to be the best choice, to them, but we are not sure.

New Orleans, LA