Ulrica&Jesse

Filling for GC without filed taxes.

5 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Georgia
Timeline

Hello this is my very first post on this forum, usualIy my wife is the one posting on here but I see now how useful and helpful this forum is so I'm happy to join too!

I am US citizen I have been "unemployed" for a few years and have not filed taxes since about 2012. I have started performing freelance work the past year. I plan to file taxes for 2017 however I freelance internationally and have no idea how to fill out a 1099 misc or 1040 in this case. I am new to freelance work and as I am currently living abroad I am weary on looking for tax help. Since I do not owe taxes I never filed assuming It was not required. I now have found it seems to be still required and the GC petition asks for past three years evidence of tax filing. Should I reach out to a tax professional and try to get my taxes done or should I simply just inform the USCIS I have not made the required amount to pay taxes. Also we will be filing with affidavit of support from family members. Aside from this we have a lot of strong evidence our union is legitimate and we can take care of our selves financially. I have been living abroad for over two years. we have been together for nearly four years and married for nearly two. We have joint bank account in US as well my foreign spouse has valuable assets. So I am wondering are the taxes that important if they will only state a $0.00 income and I am applying with support? any suggestions? anyone has had this experience? Would be greatly appreciated .

I am of course aware I should have this all in order and not even have this as a problem so please don't bother to be judgmental, I simply am hoping to get a good advice and see of someone else had or currently has same issue and how are they dealing with it.

• Got married - 9/26/2014
  • I-130 filed - 9/22/2016
  • NOA1(Went to Nebraska) - 9/27/2016