Johndoe199675

Petition my cousin

13 posts in this topic

Greetings

I am writing this email looking for some answers. I am a resident of NYC and back in 2014 I went on vacation to Dominican Republic and on my vacation I met a cousin of mine from my dad side and it was the first time I met her and me and her we stood in contact after I left the country in 2015, after months of talking to her me and her decided to have a relationship and so we started seeing each othe and after months I went back to Dominican Republic and we met each other again and this time as a couple and we fell in love and I want to be with her and I want her to live with me here and I was wondering if anybody can help us on what's the law marrying my cousin and what are the process to petition her and bring her to marry me here, and having identical last name will cause any problem? Any information will be of much help

Thank you for your time and help!

P.S I am a US Citizen

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

What number cousin is it?

Eleanor and Franklin were cousins with the same last name before marriage. They were 5th cousins so it does happen.

Have you looked at the guides at the top of the page to see what visa suits you?

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009

POE - June 20, 2009 Toronto - Atlanta, GA

Removal of Conditions
Filed - April 14, 2011
Biometrics - June 2, 2011 (early)
Approval - November 9, 2011
209 DAY TRIP TO REMOVE CONDITIONS

Citizenship

April 29, 2013 - NOA1 for petition received

September 10, 2013 Interview - decision could not be made.

April 15, 2014 APPROVED. Wait for oath ceremony

Waited...

September 29, 2015 - sent letter to senator.

October 16, 2015 - US Citizen

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline