Jovic

student visa application

14 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Nigeria
Timeline

I am a university lecturer in Nigeria and I applied for PhD in US and I got admitted and I have requested for my I 20 to apply for visa. But in December 2015 I got married to a US green card holder and has gone back. I want to apply for my student visa, hope her status will not affect because I don't have any intention to immigrate through this because am signing a bond back in my work place to come back and serve the number of years in spend in the US. Pls advice me.

Thanks

Oluwafemi

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Nepal
Timeline

You will possibly have a difficult road ahead in getting the student visa. The CO will have hard time believing you that you will return back to serve few years in your workplace leaving your spouse behind in the US.

Spouse:

2015-06-16: I-130 Sent

2015-08-17: I-130 approved

2015-09-23: NVC received file

2015-10-05: NVC assigned Case number, Invoice ID & Beneficiary ID

2016-06-30: DS-261 completed, AOS Fee Paid, WL received

2016-07-05: Received IV invoice, IV Fee Paid

2016-07-06: DS-260 Submitted

2016-07-07: AOS and IV Package mailed

2016-07-08: NVC Scan

2016-08-08: Case Complete

2017-06-30: Interview, approved

2017-07-04: Visa in hand

2017-08-01: Entry to US

Myself:

2016-05-10: N-400 Sent

2016-05-16: N-400 NOA1

2016-05-26: Biometrics

2017-01-30: Interview

2017-03-02: Oath Ceremony

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

What is the plan, is he leaving the US when you finish your PHD?

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Timeline

Sir do you mean to ask if my wife will leave the US to come to Nigeria with me after my PhD?

No. She is already working there and may not come back with me.