Henley1989

Getting student loans

9 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi There,

I moved the the USA half a year ago and I have been working for 4 months. I am in my 8th year of work, having never done post high school education.

Im looking into getting a bachelors online so that I can work and study in the evenings.

Has any British expat had luck with getting student loans? I already filled in a FAFSA form, but it has some hold ups im trying to fix.

Just looking around to see if anyone has done this and what they would recommend.

Thanks

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Haiti
Timeline

My husband was able to gain access to student loans and grants after he was approved for his 2 yr greencard. (After AOS was completed) Prior to that, although here legally, the residency is in transition per say so loans are not an option. That being said, you can enroll in college in the interim, but would be 100% responsible for paying the tuition (no aid or loans).

Brief History

My husband arrived on a K1 also. He entered the US in April 2014, we married in May and completed the AOS process in September 2014. He started school the following semester (Jan 2015) and qualified for both grants and loans.

Hope that helps clarify things a little!

Awaiting Oath Ceremony for Citizenship! Last step!

Hi There,

I moved the the USA half a year ago and I have been working for 4 months. I am in my 8th year of work, having never done post high school education.

Im looking into getting a bachelors online so that I can work and study in the evenings.

Has any British expat had luck with getting student loans? I already filled in a FAFSA form, but it has some hold ups im trying to fix.

Just looking around to see if anyone has done this and what they would recommend.

Thanks