quesma

Applied for AOS. I have a medical question (merged)

40 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Hi. I came to US on a K1 visa. I married within 90 days and now I have applied for Adjustment of Status and the case is pending. After a month I came here I went to hospital due to fever in the middle of the night. I was taken to emergency. The nurse or the doctor checked me and gave me just two tablets and sent me home. A week ago I got a hefty bill of over $4000. I am now in a big problem. I want to get help to pay this off. Can I get Medi-Cal insurance to pay this bill? My wife in unemployed and I am waiting on my EAD card to start working. I am a qualified engineer and expect to make a good living but cant do that yet as I do not have my EAD yet. Please help!!!

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Norway
Timeline

Did you have insurance before the emergency? I doubt you will find one that's retroactive

If it isn't difficult, it isn't worth it.

K1 process

9/24/15: I129f sent

9/30/15: NOA1

11/2/15: NOA2

Delayed processing due to work

3/15/16: Medical

4/28/16: Interview (approved)

Delayed entry due to work

8/12/16: POE Detroit

9/4/16: Wedding!

AOS process:

9/9/16: I485/I131/I765 sent

9/14/16: Received 3xNOAs by text/e-mail (day 2)

9/14-18/16: Received 3xpaper NOAs 

9/23/16: Received biometrics appointment letter (day 11)

10/3/16: Biometrics appointment (day 19)

11/4/16: EAD+AP approved (day 53)

11/16/16: EAD status changed to card shipped (day 65)

11/17/16: EAD/AP combo card received (day 66)

12/30/16: Notice of interview scheduled (day 109)

2/1/17: AOS interview (day 142) - APPROVED

2/8/17: GC received (day 150)

ROC process:

11/3/2018: ROC window opens