slee0000

How do I file taxes now that my AOS is pending? No longer F1

6 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I'm a little confused on how to file taxes this time.

I got married just this February and I'm no longer an F-1 student at my school. I was a student up until March - when I filed my AOS and sent my confirmation letter from USCIS to my international advisor.

I haven't yet received my employment authorization card and haven't worked at all - no income, nothing to report.

What form do I need to fill out?

- While F1, I used to fill out the form 8843 (https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8843.pdf)

but then questions 12 and 13 are:

12: Were you present in the United States as a teacher, trainee, or student for any part of more than 5 calendar years?

If you checked the “Yes” box on line 12, you must provide sufficient facts on an attached statement to establish that you do not intend to reside permanently in the United States. - (obviously this doesn't apply because I have filed for AOS to reside permanently in the US)

13: During 2015, did you apply for, or take other affirmative steps to apply for, lawful permanent resident status in the United States or have an application pending to change your status to that of a lawful permanent resident of the United States? -- obviously yes, but then it contradicts what they want you to write for 12.

I'm just confused. Since I was a student all of 2015, I should fill out 8843 form, but then do I just check YES for 12 and not provide explanation?

Edited by slee0000

I don't know those forms, but it's asking your status in calendar year 2015. You had not applied to adjust status in 2015 and did not have an application pending in 2015. What you have done or earned since Jan 1, 2016 is for next year when you file 2016 taxes.

Did you earn any money as a student in 2015?

England.gifENGLAND ---

K-1 Timeline 4 months, 19 days 03-10-08 VSC to 7-29-08 Interview London

10-05-08 Married