luck4unme

Which Visa Should I Apply For?

16 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Colombia
Timeline

Hi All.

I have been a resident of Colombia for many years. I plan to file a Direct Consulate Filing if allowed.

We have no interest in living in the USA.........ust plan to visit family and show them my country. Several married guys' wives applied for B-1 tourist visa and were denied. They think it was because they were married and therefore the correct visa was spousal.

So are they correct that we should apply for a spousal visa even though we have no interest in residing in the USA?

Specifically, is anyone aware of tourist visa apps being denied to wives of US citizens because they were married? Or is it just a coincidence and the visa app would have been denied regardless of marital status.

Thanks

You will have to show how you're re-establishing your residency for the spousal visa to be approved. Which is fraud because you have no intention on doing so. Then she will end up losing the green card, because she is not maintaining residency. You're caught in one of those catch 22s. They don't believe you're not short cutting the immigration process by getting a visitors visa, but you can't keep a green card if she doesn't stay there. Apply for the tourist visa, but before you do, gather plenty of hard evidence on why you're not moving back to the USA and she isn't either. Establish the hard ties on why she will return.

K1 from the Philippines
Arrival : 2011-09-08
Married : 2011-10-15
AOS
Date Card Received : 2012-07-13
EAD
Date Card Received : 2012-02-04

Sent ROC : 4-1-2014
Noa1 : 4-2-2014
Bio Complete : 4-18-2014
Approved : 6-24-2014

N-400 sent 2-13-2016
Bio Complete 3-14-2016
Interview
Oath Taking

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

B1 is for business.