Barciur

N-400 - failed to file taxes - no income

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Poland
Timeline

Hello

I have a question about the question found in Part 11 q. 7a: Have you ever not filed a Federal, State, or local tax return since you became a Permanent Resident?

So I believe I read on these forums that if I failed to file, for any reason, I need to say Yes. I came here as a 13 year old and I was 19 when I graduated high school, and up until I was 20 and got my first job, I didn't file anything because I had 0 income, as I still live with parents. So in my situation - is it still a yes? And if so, what will they ask me to do? The checklist says:

"

If you have ever failed to file an income tax return since you became a Lawful Permanent Resident, send:
All correspondence with the IRS regarding your failure to file."
But clearly, I do not have any of that - I never filed because I didn't have to. So can anyone guide me in this situation?

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Answer is NO.. That question only is applicable if you had a paying job and did not file income tax return. That was what the Immigration officer told me when I had my citizenship interview, because in my first year as a resident I did not have a job and did not file income tax for that year and I answered yes to that question in the form, so she corrected me during the interview.

AOS Journey

1/31/16 - Got married

2/24/16 - AOS, EAD, AP packet sent

2/29/16 - Received Date

3/03/16 - Received text and email notification

3/04/16 - Check cashed

3/07/16 - I-797 hardcopy received

3/19/16 - Biometric scheduled received by mail

4/06/16 - I-485 online status changed to Ready to be Scheduled for Interview

4/15/16 - I-485 online status changed to INTERVIEW SCHEDULED

4/17/16 - Interview Notice hardcopy received

4/28/16 - AP & EAD approval date

5/02/16 - AP approval letter received

5/05/16 - EAD card received

5/17/16 - AOS interview