aidan80

B2 Visitor Visa Denied CIMT

31 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Ireland
Timeline

I'm a resident in the US (about to finally apply for citizenship) my brother his wife and children wanted to come visit the sunshine state where I reside for a family holiday. I should add some background information. I'm originally from the northwest of Ireland and we all grew up in the British occupied north of Ireland.

So everyone runs through ESTA system and my brother is denied. He applies for a B2 visa and is denied at the consulate. The interviewing officer states (CIMT) Crime Involving Moral Turpitude. He's been to the US a number of times in the past without issue, never overstayed and his alleged crime most certainly isn't involving moral turpitude nor a crime.

The alleged CIMT is 31 years old and occurred while he was in his late teens. As some of you might imagine the situation on the ground back home was at times tense to say the least. He was captured by the British and received a conviction and sentenced for riotous behavior. A political act, an act of defense most certainly not a crime in the eyes of the community. 31 years later he's never had any issues, goes to work, pays his taxes and takes care of his family etc. What happened in the past while unfortunate and unpleasant was a product of the unstable times we where in back then.

I'm not trying to start up any kind of flame war as to who's right vs wrong in what happened back home. I'm simply laying out the facts as they are. I'd like my brother to visit the US again and should he choose I'd bring him over as a family member. I feel while I can understand the interviewing officers decision and how they might intemperate the facts. That decision I feel was wrong and needs to be reassessed at a higher, more qualified level.