flying_postman

Job hunting (split topic)

5 posts in this topic

Degrees in the UK are definitely more specific than those in the USA. The degrees in the USA seem to let you pick and mix all kinds of unrelated subjects, so long as you have enough in any main subject to make up the "major" element. Degrees in the UK only study topics that are relevant (I have a comp sci degree from the UK).

I work now in my field (being in SF makes this very easy), and I've never had to even talk about my degree - but then I do also have a decade of work experience at this point, which is mostly all they're interested in for what I do. I realise this is different for health-care related work, but experience is always going to be just as much of a factor as your background and education.

You haven't mentioned much about your experience? Have you just recently graduated? If you've already been working in the field, it'll probably be easier and you will likely need to look into getting correctly certified in your state, but if you're thinking of moving into HR/Marketing, you should probably check out what sort of requirements these jobs are asking for and see how you stack up - you may need to look into taking some classes before, or taking something more entry-level and working your way up.

Hi, Sorry to derail this thread but I have a couple of questions, I'm a DV winner (with my interview being May 2015) and I'll be migrating probably mid 2016. I also work in IT but on the networking side,over 10 years experience,CCNA,ITIL,CCNP,MSCE, VCP etc and currently studying part time for my MSc at a UK institution to be completed in September 2015.

What was your experience in job hunting in the US?, how long did it take you to find employment in your field?

Did you focus only on the SF/bay area or did you apply nationwide?