5 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Germany
Timeline

Hello,

I think I really need advice.

This is my situation amd hopefully you can help me.

I got married in January 2014 in the US. In february my younger sister was diagnosed with leukemia and therefore I had to rush to germany to be with my sister. Before leaving, my husband and I filed for all the paperwork (I-130, I-485, I-131 and workauthorization)

I-131(advanced parole) and I-485 were denied due to me leaving before receiving advanced parole.

My I-130 was approved on june 17th 2014 and was sent to the NVC (still waiting for them to receive it)

My lawyer filed for motion to reopen my I-485 case. He also adviced me to get a student visa since I have been a student on a F-1 visa prior to marriage. Now this is my situation. I called my school and they sent me a new I-120 and all I have to do is to go to the embassy and ask for a new F-1 visa, but is that even possible?

Is it possible to receive a F-1 visa after applying for a I-485? My lawyer is telling me that I should try it but after researching on the net I am not sure if i.can trust his advice. And if I apply for a f-1 and it will get denied will it have bad consequences?

If anyone could give me advice I would truly appreciate it, I am.desperate and dont know who and what to trust anymore.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Poland
Timeline

There's really not much you can do - F-1 has decent chance of getting denied but it won't have any consequences. Using non-immigrant visa (F-1) to immigrate is a fraud anyway, nice that's the advice you're getting from a lawyer.

Anyway - if I-130 is approved and at NVC, there isn't much left in the process - just make sure NVC know which embassy to send it to and finish your process back at home.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Cameroon
Timeline