Greenberry

I-864 US Citizen petitioner living & working abroad

3 posts in this topic

Hi Guys & Gals, This is my story:

I’m a US Citizen born and raised in Lynn, Massachusetts. I graduated from the University of Massachusetts with a degree in Business Management in May of 2006. In the fall of 2006 I was offered a job in the Dominican Republic working with some relatives and happily accepted. Speaking very little Spanish and understanding very little about my Dominican roots, I was eager to accept the offer. I thought it would be a great way to learn about the Dominican culture, learn a second language, and at the same time gain some valuable international business experience. So in November of 2006 I packed up and moved to DR. My first job lasted about 2 years working with relatives in construction. It was quite an adjustment doing business in a foreign language and different culture. However, today I am grateful for those challenges. Then in July 2009, I teamed up with a partner and we opened up our own business importing and distributing auto parts. In August of 2009 I began dating the woman who is now my wife. We were married in mid-2013 after dating for 3 years, then living together for another 2 years. We do not have any children yet but that is most definitely in our future plans. Unfortunately things have not worked out as planned with our business adventure and I have decided to move back to my home state. On December 5th 2013 I filed the I-130 CR-1 for my wife. Now October 2nd we are still waiting for our NOA2. (This delay is being addressed)

My original plan was to wait until my wife’s paperwork was ready and move back together. However I was not expecting the first part of the process to be as lengthy as it has. I was expecting the 5 months normal processing time for part 1 of the process. We have been experiencing some financial problems here since December of 2013 and are not sure how much longer we can continue on this path.